First day of school

I woke up early due to the different time zone and I couldn't fall asleep again because the sun was already shining at 6am. School started at 9am so I had plenty of time to get ready. I ate cornflakes for breakfast and talked to my host mother and my host father . They are very friendly.

 

The way to school was very simple, I just had to walk down the road and there it was. 

First I had to go to the office and show my ID card to get registrated but even though I was early, there already was a long queue . As I was waiting with my swiss ID in my hand, I suddenly heard someone shouting "SCHWITZER!". I've never seen that guy before but he just started talking to me. I didn't know whether to be happy or concerned about the fact that there were apparently more swiss people at the school, but before I could decide, about ten other people talking swissgerman came in. 

 

For the first day we got distributed into classes according to our age so I thought I'd probably make some friends. Soon I realised that I had thought wrong. First of all, most of them were swiss. French swiss. But that wasn't the point. They started talking in french and complaining about the fact that it's not possible to buy alcohol and cigarettes under the age of 18 here in England. First I thought I misunderstood because of my bad french skills, I mean those kids were like 14! But I didn't. Sadly I didn't. 

Fortunately there were two other girls who seemed nice and so I spent the break with them. 

 

We didn't do much in the lessons. All we did was write the exam to find out our english-level and  attend a presentation about rules and safety. 

 

Bye for now! :)