Feeling like a real tourist

This weekend was very special. All I knew was that my aunt would come, but then she turned up with my friend! It was the biggest surprise of my life when she jumped out of her hiding place behind the ticket machine in the tube station!

However, we only had three days to visit everything worth seeing, so we had to act like real tourists.

 

On friday we went on a tour with a Hop-On-Hop-Off bus and we managed to visit most of the famous tourist attractions. I was very sad because I couldn't really see the Big Ben due to the construction work but all the other things were just like I imagined! 

This was also the day when I accidentally said "grüezi" to a person I encountered on the street in the morning. 

 

On saturday we first had English breakfast and we went to the London Eye, which was probably the best thing I've done here in London so far. It was absolutely amazing! The view was stunning and it was really worth the one hour that we had spent queueing. 

In the afternoon we went to Oxford street for shopping but it was really crowded, so we ended up in a nice Mexican restaurant and we ate tacos and nachos.



Today is sunday and it was time to say goodbye. Their flight took off in the afternoon so we spent our last morning together in a coffee shop with very nice cakes and for the first time I felt a little bit homesick. They simply flew back to Switzerland, leaving me behind and even though there's only one week left, I wished for a moment that I could go with them.

However I'm looking forward to the next week and I am excited about the fact that I'll see my mom in only four days and that I'll spend another ten days in London with her.


Concerning my English, I think I've made some progress! I've learned a lot of new vocabulary and I feel more comfortable when I'm speaking. I am very happy about the recent, slight improvements of my language because I didn't notice any during the first two weeks of my stay. 

 

Bye for now :)