The end

Today is the official end of my language stay. The last four weeks were amazing but the time flew by. Luckily I have one more week in London with my mother.

 

My mother arrived in London on thursday and I was really excited to see her again. My host family offered us to stay at their house for the week, which is very nice of them. However, my mom and I have a lot of plans and we've already been to some attractions.

On friday we walked around London and took pictures in front of the London Eye, Westminster Abbey and Big Ben. Later, we ate in a nice Asian restaurant in Covent Garden, my favourite place around here.

On saturday we wanted to go to Madame Tousseaud's, but we didn't book tickets in advance, which was a big mistake. The queue was extremely long, but the queue at the entrance was even longer. All in all, we decided not to go, not only because of the queue, but also because of the absolutely insane prices. We thought we could go to the Sherlock Holmes Museum instead, but everything was crowded. 

Finally we decided that saturday was just not a good day to visit attractions and we went home. 

Today we went to Muswell Hill, a nice little town with an amazing view of the skyline of London. Since it's not a very famous place, there weren't many people even though it is Sunday.

The one thing I love most about London, is the fact that the shops are open on sunday. In Switzerland, sunday is my least favourite day because everything is closed, even some restaurants!

However, I really look forward to the next week and also to going home and seeing my farher again.

 

After this language stay everyone will ask "Did you learn something?" and I will not know what to answer. Yes, of course I have, but somehow I expected more. I don't really see a difference when I talk or in my knowledge about grammar. The only thing that has improved, concerning my English, is probably my vocabulary. Nonetheless, I have become more independent and confident in general, by travelling alone and being separated from my parents for such a long time. 

To conclude, I think that the stay was a good thing and that I've learned some new things, yet I could have learned the same by just doing the same language lessons in Switzerland. But of course it wasn't just about the school but also about the experience in general and I must say:

IT WAS AMAZING!

 

Thank you for reading my blog!

Laura

 

The end.